Time is Flying By

Consignment Mink from the 70's

This week, we began taking furs on consignment for the season. I was telling a newer employee all the things I think about when pricing the coats  brought in for consignment. Price if  new, style, condition, quality and age being the major points. I showed her how to check for worn areas and explained the most common worn areas are the edges: cuffs, fronts, bottom and pockets then elbows and seat area.
I explained you can usually guess age from the condition of the pelt and the style but confirm this with the customer. I suggested to ask if it was purchased for a special occasion and learn the age from that. Some times timing is everything!!!! Just as I was explaining my reason for this I had a customer bring her mink coat to sell and the style told me 1990’s. I asked how old and she said under 10 years. I then asked if it was a gift for a special occasion and she said yes when my son was born. I asked what grade he was in. We all laughed when she said he was just heading back to college. I had to explain to the customer that  time flying by is a very common problem and I had just finished explaining that to my co-worker.
I do it also, just ask and I will tell you I am 35! LOL

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Time is Flying By”

  1. Diane Popper Says:

    Susie, I love your “Susie Says” blog!

    • furs4u2 Says:

      Thank you Diane- I am sure you would also love our stores if you are ever in our area come visit Formally Hers or Hinsdale Furriers at 33 E 1st in Hinsdale. Thanks again for the comment and hope to see you soon

Leave a Reply

